h1

#20: The Time Traveler’s Wife

October 5, 2009

timetravelerswifeSo, recently I ended my job at the movie theatre and moved to sunny California, because where else should a movie buff in training live?  Hollywood, right!  And my last free movie at my old theatre was this gem.

So what’s it about?: A guy has a genetic defect that causes him to jump through time involuntarily.  Naturally, he has to go fall in love, so him and his wife attempt to lead a normal while he’s jumping back and forth through time.  Chaos naturally ensues.

The Good: Eric Bana and Rachel McAdams.  Need I say more?

The Bad: What a spectacularly sappy piece of crap.  It’s like some romantic attempted to understand an entirely nerdy concept such as time travel and ended up looking like a fool.  Frankly, I couldn’t take any of this movie seriously because it broke so many time travel paradoxes.  Not to mention the ending is lame.  And the drama seems contrived.

The Verdict: Maybe the book’s better (what am I saying, OF COURSE the book is better!) so go check that out instead.  Frankly, unless you really like sappy romantic dramas with a sci-fi twist, stay far, far away from this mess of a film!

3 comments

  1. I am soooo glad you reviewed this. The book is awesome. I could not put it down, and I was really hesitant to see the movie because of what Hollywood does to my favorite books. Now I know to stay away. I do recommend the book though. One of the best books I’ve read in the last 5 years or so.


  2. I’m not surprised the movie bit, because I thought the book was a boring, self-indulgent, driveling piece of crap that ruined the awesomeness of the concept of time travel.


  3. […] Good: If Time Traveler’s Wife is the stupidest film about time travel, then Primer is hands down the smartest.  This was the […]



Leave a Reply

