h1

#16: I Love You, Man

September 3, 2009

iloveyoumanSo, after returning the colossal mess that was Happy-Go-Lucky, I went ahead and rented a comedy that I knew actually had a plot. And I went with I Love You, Man.

So what’s it about?: A real estate agent proposes to his girlfriend only to realize he has no male friends to pick a best man from, so he enters into the world of bromances and man-dates. Chaos ensues.

The Good: This movie is incredibly funny. Like laugh-out-loud funny. And with a gang of lovable characters played an awesome cast all the way from Jason Segel and Paul Rudd as the leads to Jaime Pressly and John Favreau and the incredibly funny group of supporting actors. Not to mention the story was fun and realistic and almost a grown-up, more mature version of Superbad without turning into the craziness (although awesome craziness) that was Pineapple Express. In a year where the Apatow films (Year One and Funny People) fell flat, John Hamburg as well as The Hangover gang have both made very successful attempts to take over the comedy thrown. Can’t wait to see what they come up with next!

The Bad: This Dick Flick almost got a little too Chick Flick at times. The ending was a bit too cutesy and cheesy, but considering Paul Rudd’s Peter was a little cutesy and cheesy I guess it fits. And with the raving in Fanboys as well, I’m getting a little sick of the Rush hype. Okay, they had like one good song, but seriously there are other bands out there!

The Verdict: It’s freakin’ hilarious, so if you want a comedy go grab the DVD! But if you don’t like raunchy language, then go rent something else.

2 comments

  1. I Will have to come back again when my class load lets up – even so I am taking your RSS feed so I can read your site offline. Thanks.


  2. You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with



Leave a Reply

